October 4, 2013

Dune: Prelude to Dune 1: House Atreides

Dune: Prelude to Dune 1: House Atreides
Authors: ,
Series: Dune, Book 1
Genres: All, Fiction, Science Fiction, Space Opera
The first book in the Prelude to Dune trilogy, the story of Duke Leto and Lady Jessica and their first battles with the Baron Harkonnen.
Buy now!
About the Book

Frank Herbert’s award-winning Dune chronicles captured the imagination of millions of readers worldwide. By his death in 1986, Herbert had completed six novels in the series, but much of his vision remained unwritten. Now, working from his father’s recently discovered files, Brian Herbert and bestselling novelist Kevin J. Anderson collaborate on a new novel, the prelude to Dune—where we step onto the planet Arrakis…decades before Dune’s hero, Paul Muad’Dib Atreides, walks its sands.

Here is the rich and complex world that Frank Herbert created, in the time leading up to the momentous events of Dune. As Emperor Elrood’s son plots a subtle regicide, young Leto Atreides leaves for a year’s education on the mechanized world of Ix; a planetologist named Pardot Kynes seeks the secrets of Arrakis; and the eight-year-old slave Duncan Idaho is hunted by his cruel masters in a terrifying game from which he vows escape and vengeance. But none can envision the fate in store for them: one that will make them renegades—and shapers of history.

The WordFire edition of this ebook is available only in foreign markets (non-US & non-Canadian).

  • UK
  • India
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Brazil
  • Mexico
  • Australia

The US and Canadian versions are available from Bantam Spectra.

About the Author
Kevin J. Anderson

Kevin J. Anderson has published 125 books, more than fifty of which have been national or international bestsellers. He has written numerous novels in the Star Wars, X-Files, and Dune universes, as well as steampunk fantasy novels, Clockwork Angels and Clockwork Lives, co-created with Neil Peart, drummer and lyricist for the legendary rock group Rush. His original works include the Saga of Seven Suns series, the Terra Incognita fantasy trilogy, and his humorous horror series featuring Dan Shamble, Zombie PI. He has edited numerous anthologies, including the Five by Five and Blood Lite series. Anderson and his wife Rebecca Moesta are the publishers of WordFire Press. Learn more at WordFire.com.